Important note for your visit

The exhibitions and the café in the Jahr100Haus are closed until the end of February 2023. The shop and ticket centre will remain open. Our outdoor area is open in winter. 

close
Jump to main area
All State Museums in Schleswig-HolsteinAll State Museums in SH

Traces of the Cold War

in Schleswig-Holstein

30.03.2021 - 30.11.2022

In the "balance of terror" - the almost five decades of the Cold War can hardly be summed up better. Communism and capitalism, East and West were irreconcilably opposed during this period. They are competing in a race in which everything is at stake, even in the smallest details. Lurking in the background are gigantic stockpiles of nuclear weapons that could wipe out life on earth several times over. Yet for long stretches, the nuclear threat is little more than a background noise in everyday life. Meanwhile, in Schleswig-Holstein, as in the entire Federal Republic, the state is planning for an emergency, which fortunately does not happen in the end. Today the Cold War is history. The special exhibition "Auf den Spuren des Kalten Krieges” therefore focuses on two central questions: What has remained of this era? And how do we want to remember it?

The divided world

Korean War, Hot Wire, Pershing II: What has stuck with us from the great events of world history? How did the Cold War make itself felt in the everyday lives of Schleswig-Holsteiners? And how did it feel when NATO units ploughed through the fields on manoeuvres or low-flying aircraft thundered loudly across the Schleswig-Holstein sky. The show begins with numbers, dates and formative events of the time.

The sound of the Cold War - it is located somewhere between the test alarms of the air-raid sirens and "99 Red Balloons" by Nena. Even back then, the media carried the appropriate images into living rooms: the "Tagesschau" reported on the Cuban Missile Crisis, the Vietnam War and the NATO Double-Track Decision, the "Spiegel" on the boycott of the Olympic Games and "Reagan's neutron shock". At a film station in the exhibition, we can review the decades of reporting.

While at that time young people were discussing the pros and cons of compulsory military service vs. alternative service with their parents in the kitchen - you can replay this - simultaneously in the children's room the Cold War became the content of the game: sinking ships, tank battles and later also first-person shooters caused conflicts across the generations and political camps. Conflicts that, by the way, also cut right across society and caused large peace demonstrations on the streets of the Federal Republic of Germany in the 1980s.

Pop culture takes up these motifs. Heroes, villains and spies, saving the world at the last second - the Cold War is ideally suited for dramatic portrayals or even re-enactments. While in American feature films the USSR practically always has to serve as the villain, pop and rock songs are often more sceptical and break with the rigid scheme of good and evil. This exhibition also presents a small selection to listen to and watch, from "Eve of Destruction" to "Wind of Change". 

The unease becomes even clearer when one approaches the German-German border in the 1960s, 70s and 80s, which at that time separated the city of Lübeck in Schleswig-Holstein and the district of Duchy of Lauenburg from Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania: for anyone living not far from the border, for anyone wanting to visit relatives in the GDR or for anyone wanting to travel to West Berlin via the transit route, the "Iron Curtain" becomes downright tangible. Even today, exhibits such as a barrier from the Gudow border crossing, warning signs or a Russian anti-personnel mine from the "death strip" are as impressive as they are evocative.

Protection from nuclear attack

They are located in cellars, World War II bunkers, underground garages and tunnels, distributed throughout West Germany: large public shelters, known as "atomic bunkers" for short. Around 2000 such facilities were built from the 1960s onwards and maintained until the end of the Cold War. The bunker under Kiel's Schlossplatz could also shelter 2000 people for up to 14 days in the event of a military attack. Still used today as an underground car park, its temporary "double life" as a bunker is little known.

In 2007, the federal government decided that this protection concept was no longer up to date. Since then, the bunkers have been gradually cleared out, converted, closed or deconstructed. In this way, a chapter in the history of the Federal Republic of Germany is gradually fading away. In the special exhibition, however, part of it comes back to life: In the second part of the exhibition, original exhibits from the bunker under Kiel Castle and from other shelters in Schleswig-Holstein and Hamburg illustrate how the authorities planned for all eventualities: bunk beds, seats, dishes, toilet brushes and communication equipment show very directly and vividly what was stored in the bunkers for decades "just in case".

Everything else remained considerations and plans: What would it have been like to have to stay in the Kiel bunker for a fortnight in an emergency? Who would have organised this forced cohabitation of 2000 people? Where would they have slept, what would they have eaten? How would they have been supplied with water, air and electricity? But above all: when would the trapped people have been able to return to the earth's surface? And what would they have found there? We play out these scenarios for you in the exhibition at five listening stations. Meanwhile, you can sit down on the hard original benches of the bunker and marvel at impressive photographs from inside it.

Searching for traces in Schleswig-Holstein

Most of them are massive structures made of steel and concrete, hundreds of which can still be found throughout Schleswig-Holstein today. The third part of the special exhibition is about buildings of the Cold War. For decades, they were built and maintained as conscientiously as they were discreetly by the authorities and the military. They were meant to protect people, but not to worry them, and so even then they tended to lie in the shadows of public attention. Secrecy and barbed wire shielded some of them, others were publicly visible and accessible, but hardly anyone knew of their function.

It is therefore easy for people today to forget these remnants of the Cold War. The preservation and documentation of the bulky objects is mainly taken care of by private individuals, thus preserving the memory of a wartime without war. Four of them, who deal with the subject for very different reasons, get a chance to speak in the exhibition. They talk about scenarios of the Cold War, but also about very personal - beautiful as well as scary - memories of childhood and youth.

Sponsored by...

Our media partners

Schleswig-Holstein State Museums
schliessen
Scroll up

Corona-Pandemie

Das Freilichtmuseum Molfsee ist geöffnet. Es besteht aus einem großen Freigelände sowie unserem Jahr100Haus. Das Ticket, das Sie erwerben, berechtigt Sie grundsätzlich zum taggleichen Besuch von Freigelände und Jahr100Haus. Der Besuch des Jahr100Hauses ist jedoch nur möglich, wenn Sie vorab über unseren Online-Shop ein Ticket erwerben, an das eine konkrete Besuchszeit geknüpft ist. Möchten Sie ausschließlich das Freigelände besuchen, so können Sie auch spontan vorbeikommen und ein Ticket vor Ort erwerben. Unsere Corona-Besuchsinformationen finden Sie HIER

schliessen
Springe zum Hauptbereich
Alle Landesmuseen in Schleswig-HolsteinAlle Landesmuseen in SH

Die geteilte Welt

Korea Krieg, Heißer Draht, Pershing II: Was blieb hängen von den großen Ereignissen der Weltgeschichte? Wie machte sich der Kalte Krieg im Alltag der Schleswig-Holsteiner bemerkbar? Und wie fühlte es sich an, wenn Nato-Verbände bei Manövern durch die Feldmark pflügten oder Tiefflieger lautstark über den schleswig-holsteinischen Himmel donnerten. Die Schau beginnt mit Zahlen, Daten und prägenden Ereignissen jener Zeit. 

Der Sound des Kalten Krieges – er verortet sich irgendwo zwischen Probealarmen der Luftschutzsirenen und „99 Luftballons“ von Nena. Die passenden Bilder dazu tragen schon damals die Medien in die Wohnzimmer: Die „Tagesschau“ berichtete von Kuba-Krise, Vietnam-Krieg und Nato-Doppelbeschluss, der „Spiegel“ vom Boykott der Olympischen Spiele und von „Reagans Neutronenschock.“ An einer Filmstation in der Ausstellung können wir die jahrzehntelange Berichterstattung Revue passieren lassen.

Während damals Jugendliche in der Küche mit ihren Eltern das Für und Wider von Wehrpflicht vs. Ersatzdienst diskutieren – Sie können das nachspielen – wird zeitgleich im Kinderzimmer der Kalte Krieg zum Spielinhalt: Schiffe versenken, Panzerschlacht und später auch Ego-Shooter sorgen für Konflikte durch die Generationen und politischen Lager. Konflikte, die sich übrigens auch quer durch die Gesellschaft ziehen und in den 1980er Jahren für große Friedensdemonstrationen auf den Straßen der Bundesrepublik sorgen.

Die Pop-Kultur greift diese Motive auf. Helden, Bösewichte und Spione, die Rettung der Welt in letzter Sekunde – der Kalte Krieg ist bestens geeignet für dramatische Darstellungen oder auch zum Nachspielen. Während im amerikanischen Spielfilm die UdSSR praktisch immer als Bösewicht herhalten muss, sind Pop- und Rocksongs oft skeptischer und brechen mit dem starren Schema von gut und böse. Eine kleine Auswahl zum Nachhören und Anschauen präsentiert auch diese Ausstellung von „Eve of Destruction“ bis „Wind of Change“. 

Noch deutlicher wird das Unbehagen, wenn man sich in den 1960er, 70er und 80er Jahren an die Deutsch-Deutsche Grenze annähert, die damals die schleswig-holsteinische Stadt Lübeck und den Kreis Herzogtum Lauenburg von Mecklenburg-Vorpommern trennt: Wer unweit der Grenze lebt, wer Verwandte in der DDR besuchen will oder wer über die Transitstrecke nach Westberlin fahren möchte, für den wird der „Eiserne Vorhang“ regelrecht greifbar. Auch heute noch sind Exponate wie ein Schlagbaum vom Grenzübergang Gudow, Warnschilder oder eine russische Anti-Personen-Mine aus dem „Todesstreifen“ ebenso eindrucksvolle wie sprechende Exponate.

Schutz vor dem Atomschlag

Sie befinden sich in Kellern, Weltkriegsbunkern, Tiefgaragen und Tunneln, verteilt in ganz Westdeutschland: öffentliche Großschutzräume, kurz „Atombunker“ genannt. Rund 2000 solcher Einrichtungen werden ab den 1960er Jahren gebaut und bis zum Ende des Kalten Krieges in Stand gehalten. Auch im Bunker unter dem Kieler Schlossplatz könnten im Falle eines militärischen Angriffs 2000 Menschen bis zu 14 Tage lang Schutz finden. Bis heute als Tiefgarage genutzt, ist das zeitweilige „Doppelleben“ als Bunker wenig bekannt.

Im Jahr 2007 beschließt die Bundesregierung, dass dieses Schutzkonzept nicht mehr zeitgemäß ist. Schrittweise werden die Bunker seitdem ausgeräumt, umgenutzt, verschlossen oder rückgebaut. So verblasst nach und nach ein Kapitel der bundesdeutschen Geschichte. In der Sonderausstellung wird ein Teil davon jedoch wieder lebendig: Originalexponate aus dem Bunker unter dem Kieler Schloss und aus anderen Schutzräumen Schleswig-Holsteins und Hamburgs illustrieren im zweiten Teil der Ausstellung wie die Behörden für alle Eventualitäten planten:  Stockbetten, Sitze, Essgeschirr, Klosettbürsten und Kommunikationseinrichtungen zeigen sehr unmittelbar und anschaulich, was über Jahrzehnte „für den Fall der Fälle“ in den Bunkern eingelagert war.

Alles andere blieben Überlegungen und Planungen: Wie wäre es gewesen, sich im Ernstfall zwei Wochen lang im Kieler Bunker aufhalten zu müssen? Wer hätte dieses erzwungene Zusammenleben von 2000 Menschen organisiert? Wo hätten sie geschlafen, was hätten sie gegessen? Wie war die Versorgung mit Wasser, Luft und Elektrizität gewährleistet? Vor allem aber: Wann hätten die Eingeschlossenen wieder an die Erdoberfläche zurückkehren können? Und was hätten sie dort vorgefunden? Diese Szenarien spielen wir für Sie in der Ausstellung an fünf Hörstationen durch. Währenddessen kann man sich auf den harten Original-Sitzbänken des Bunkers niederlassen und eindrucksvolle Fotografien aus dessen Innerem bestaunen.

Spurensuche in Schleswig-Holstein

Es sind mehrheitlich massive Gebilde aus Stahl und Beton, die bis heute zu Hunderten in ganz Schleswig-Holstein zu finden sind. Im dritten Teil der Sonderausstellung geht es um Bauwerke des Kalten Krieges. Sie waren über Jahrzehnte so gewissenhaft wie diskret von Behörden und Militär erbaut und gepflegt worden. Sie sollten die Menschen schützen, aber nicht beunruhigen, und so lagen sie schon damals eher im Schatten der öffentlichen Aufmerksamkeit. Geheimhaltung und Stacheldraht schirmten einige von ihnen ab, andere waren öffentlich sichtbar und zugänglich, aber kaum jemand wusste von ihrer Funktion.

Es fällt den Menschen deshalb heute leicht, diese Überbleibsel des Kalten Krieges zu vergessen. Um die Erhaltung und Dokumentation der sperrigen Objekte kümmern sich hauptsächlich Privatpersonen und bewahren so die Erinnerung an eine kriegerische Zeit ohne Krieg. Vier von ihnen, die sich aus ganz unterschiedlichen Motivationen mit dem Thema beschäftigen kommen in der Ausstellung zu Wort. Sie berichten von Szenarien des Kalten Krieges aber auch von ganz persönlichen – schönen wie schaurigen – Kindheits- und Jugenderinnerungen.

Gefördert von...

Landesmuseen Schleswig-Holstein
schliessen
Nach oben scrollen